Skip to content
News Get involved

Call for 2023 Award Nominations

Photo by Bettymaya Foott

Do you know a dark sky advocate who deserves recognition for protecting the night from light pollution? Whether they have dedicated decades to reducing light pollution, brought innovative dark sky solutions to the lighting industry, or are an up-and-coming defender of the dark, we would like to celebrate their commitment to the dark sky movement! 

The Awards Committee is pleased to invite nominations for the 2023 DarkSky Awards. Each year, the organization recognizes and celebrates the incredible achievements of individuals and groups committed to our mission to protect the night from light pollution.

“Like most important causes, dark sky advocacy is hard work. Fortunately, thousands of people worldwide are engaged in that hard work, doing outreach, developing public education campaigns, working with elected officials, giving night walks and star parties,” said Awards Committee member Dajana Bjelajac. “Last year, we got nearly 90 nominations for the nine awards categories. Please help us top 100 this year — nominate your favorite dark sky advocate for one of this year’s awards!”

The nomination period is open through July 15, 2023. The IDA Awards Committee will review nominations and submit recommendations to the Board of Directors for ratification. Awards will be announced by October 1. Each awardee receives a personalized award and one-year complimentary membership to IDA.

Learn more about each award category here and submit a nomination here

The 2023 Award categories are: 

  • Crawford/Hunter Lifetime Achievement Award for pioneering leadership in protecting the night sky and reducing light pollution.
  • Hoag/Robinson Award for outstanding work in educating governmental organizations, businesses, and the public about the merits of outdoor lighting control ordinances.
  • Galileo Award in recognition of outstanding achievements in research or academic work on light pollution over a multiple-year period.
  • Lighting Technological Innovation Award for quality outdoor lighting.
  • Dark Sky Defender Award in appreciation and recognition of individuals and/or organizations’ exceptional efforts to promote and advance the mission and programs of IDA to preserve night skies on each of the six inhabited continents.
  • Rising Star Award in honor of a student of any grade level who demonstrates enthusiasm for and commitment to dark sky efforts.
  • Bob Gent Community Leadership Award in recognition of exceptional leadership from a member of the IDA Advocacy Community in outreach and education programs or natural nighttime awareness.
  • Nocturnal Habitat Protection Award recognizes those whose actions have been instrumental to the conservation of substantial nocturnal habitat.
  • International Dark Sky Place of the Year in recognition of exceptional achievement to an IDSP that has been established for at least three years.

Who do you know that should receive a DarkSky Award for their role in the dark sky movement?

Submit a nomination today!